We all have superstars that we work with. Give them recognition they deserve amongst state-wide peers. Showcase their special talents, acts of service and leadership by nominating them for a TASCS Award! 

Winners announced at the Annual Conference on July 25, 2024.

Send in your nomination by May 17, 2024



ASC Patient Advocate Award

This award is presented to a person who has taken initiative above and beyond to help improve patient care in the ASC setting. 

 2023 Winner: Richard Bays, JD

Mr. Richard Bays is and has always been an advocate for safe patient care. He strives to assist many facilities to provide high quality patient care. He is resourceful, intelligent, honest, knows the laws, rules and regulations for operations at the ASC. Any compliance/legal questions we may have, he is quick to reply. His delivery is factual in answering questions with additional explanation as needed.

Mr. Bays has taken care of patients as an RN prior to his legal endeavor. He writes policies, contracts, attends ASC Governing Board meetings and always has great information to share on many topics: current legislation, compliance, CMS rules & regulations, mandatory required reporting to many governing authorities and up to date information in the ASC arena. He often sits on legislative committees and is instrumental in presenting facts to improve patient care. 

 Past Winners:

2022        Amy Jones, PhD
2021        Teressa Dyson, CRNA
2020        Dianne Buffington, BSN, RN, CNOR
2019        Ruth Maxwell, MPH, CASC & Dee Pete- Jones, RN, BSN, MBA
2018        Patrick Rehm

Vendor of the Year Award

This award is presented to a vendor who has made positive changes in the ASC industry. 

2023 Winner:  Nathaniel Mickish with OnHand

Nate has been a great advocate for ASCs. He has taken a very proactive approach to be involved in the TASCS by speaking and sharing his experience. Has assisted multiple centers to save money on their GPO and help ensured centers stay open have access to the supplies they need.

Past Winners:

2022        Tina Chan with Medline
2021        Cheryl Smith with McKesson
2020        Shannon Mitchell with SIS 
2019        Elena Savage with Medline
2018        HST Pathways

Rising Star Award

This award is presented to an individual that works in an ASC and has shown significant growth in the ASC industry. 

2023 Winner: Courtney Dunkin, BSN, RN

Courtney has shown tremendous leadership and proactive skills at the center. She is absolutely a rising star!

Past Winners:
2022       Katie Pierson, DNP, RN, ONC
2021       Kayla Schneeweiss-Keene, RN, BSN 
2020       Pat O'Leary
2019       Adam Hornback, RN
2018       James McClung, BSN

ASC Innovations Award

This award is presented to a facility that has taken strides to create new and innovative programs within their facility. 

2023 Winner: Dallas Endoscopy Center
Susan Cheek

Dallas Endoscopy Center has recently built a new innovative center that was designed to be efficient and improve work flow and patient care. It has been a long process but the center is finished and seeing patients!

Past Winners:

2022       Mann Eye Institute
2021       North Texas Team Care
2020       Memorial Hermann Memorial Village Surgery Center
2019       Kelsey-Seybold ASC